altar had been in the church [also known as the Sanctuary] since 1931
as it was part of the 'Novum Opus' surrounding the Holy House.
OLM Winter/Spring Number 1938
Society of Mary have been offered the Altar of the Annunciation (under
the Patronage of S. Gabriel the Archangel and S. Vincent, D.M.), as
the Society’s Chapel at Walsingham. By accepting this, in the
already built part of the Sanctuary, they have not been asked to pay
for the construction of the fabric, as others have had to do, but
merely to furnish the Altar. This has been done as an act of gratitude,
in recognition of their zeal in promoting, from the beginning, in
the old League of Our Lady days, the revival of the Walsingham pilgrimage.
It is proposed to have a white stone altar, in place of the existing
one, to present four candlesticks, and to have a tapestry of the Annunciation
hung behind. There are already some gifts belonging to the Altar,
which were presented before the Society accepted the offer, which
will, of course, have to remain there.